/Mari/ Life of a Mediocre Fangirl

Mari holding a light stick in front of a stadium of people with the ENHYPEN band on stage.
Mari looking cute at an ENHYPEN concert.

It all started in 2020….

I know right? The shared trauma we probably want to forget starts out many a story these days.

However, I'm going to talk about something way better than the disease that shall not be named – Kpop.

There are a lot of groups, songs, and idols I love. I rarely get to gush about them in real life, so this is your warning. I'm obsessed but only obsessed enough to be a little bit dangerous. The reason I'm dubbing myself the mediocre fangirl? I may know the members names, but I don't know their birthdays. So, you see just… mediocre :D

Now back to 2020 there wasn't a lot going on for anyone, and certain things were getting me through. I will talk about other groups later, but this blog is dedicated to the newish group ENHYPEN. They were formed by the elimination show I-land that aired in 2020.

Since my love for kpop started I've done a lot of things I said I didn't enjoy. First were most elimination shows, I often found them to be a bit mean and I didn't enjoy how people treated each other. For some reason I got drawn in by the ads for I-land, maybe it was because Big Hit was involved but I found myself tuning into the show.

This now became the show that gave me something to look forward to each week. Now in 2020 we all understand why that feeling was important. I watched these young men who worked tirelessly as trainees hoping for their chance to debut. Some of them had to train for four years. The dedication is something I always admired in kpop, and I got to see it firsthand through their eyes.

And the usual thing I hated about reality shows wasn't present in I-land. Seeing them cry at eliminations and how they helped each other was exactly what drew me into the show.

In the end the members were chosen, and they formed the group ENHYPEN. I was so proud of them. I felt like a mom watching her sons finally achieve the first part of their dream.

As all fan and idols know, debuting is just the beginning. It is no guarantee of success.

-Mari