/Brandon/ Crazy in Love

Silver horse ornament
Add Beyonce on horse, please send royalty free images of the queen bee.

Hey all, my name is Brandon Winn, and I’m excited to be a part of No Margins Agency. For a ridiculous amount of time, I’ve talked to Katie among others about how frustrated I am living in a society determined to maintain the status quo and keep everyone else down and in the margins. I got to a point where I was so tired of seeing truly incredible communities of people pushed to the side so others could thrive, and Katie being the force that she is decided we could do our own small part to push against that mentality. Thus, No Margins Agency was born with the goal of helping people from diverse backgrounds actually see themselves on the covers of the books they love. 

My reading genres typically include fantasy and science fiction. My current goal is to decolonize my bookshelves. I want to read stories about different communities by people from said community. With that in mind, some of my more recent reads that I fell in love with is The Burning series by Evan Winter, The City We Become (if you can, listen to it on audio) by N.K Jemisin, and Iron Widow by Xiran Jay Zhao.

Besides reading, I love music, specifically R&B, Pop, and Dance music. I also teach/compete in kickboxing/muay thai. One of my favorite pastimes is making playlists for my classes that I can share with my students (and quizzing them on Beyonce facts with threats of burpees - edit by Katie). I’m always in the market for new music recommendations so send them my way.

If you’re checking my newsletter out, you’ll be seeing a book recommendation or two, as well as what music is currently on repeat. I’ll also include whatever else has caught my eye. Thanks for checking us out!

Currently listening to:

Renaissance - Beyoncé (Yes, the entire album)

Thinkin Bout You - LION BABE

HIT IT (beat. Big Boss Vette) - SNOW WIFE